Blackboard Learn sites contain academic records that must be preserved according to the UM System Business Policy Manual. They are preserved for a total of 7 years. They are available to instructors on Blackboard Learn for 7 years. After this time they are deleted from the system.

Blackboard Learn course sites are available to students during the semester in which they are enrolled in the course. Instructors may change the availability of their site to students at their discretion.